### **Horizon School Division**

6302 – 56 Street Taber, Alberta T1G 1Z9

Phone: (403) 223-3547 1-800-215-2398 FAX: (403) 223-2999

www.horizon.ab.ca

The Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division held its Organizational Meeting of the Board on Monday, October 26<sup>th</sup>, 2020 commencing at 12:59 p.m. in the Eric Johnson Room.

TRUSTEES PRESENT: Marie Logan, Bruce Francis, Blair Lowry, Rick Anderson, Derek Baron,

Jennifer Crowson, Christa Runka

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Wilco Tymensen, Superintendent of Schools

Philip Johansen, Associate Superintendent of Finance & Operations

Amber Darroch, Associate Superintendent of Learner Services

Cole Parkinson, Taber Times Sheila Laqua, Recording Secretary

### **MINUTES**

### 1. Call to Order

Philip Johansen, Associate Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 12:59 p.m.

### 2. Nominations and Election for Chair of the Board

Philip Johansen called for nominations from the floor for the position of Board Chair.

Bruce Francis nominated Marie Logan for the position of Board Chair.

Marie Logan accepted the nomination.

Philip Johansen called for nominations. No further nominations were made.

Marie Logan was declared to be the Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

### 3. Nominations and Election for Vice-Chair of the Board

Philip Johansen called for nominations from the floor for the position of Board Vice-Chair.

Blair Lowry nominated Bruce Francis for the position of Board Vice-Chair.

Bruce Francis accepted the nomination.

Philip Johansen called for nominations. No further nominations were made.

Bruce Francis was declared the Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

BOARD VICE-CHAIR

**BOARD CHAIR** 

ELECTED 120/20

ELECTED 121/20

### Marie Logan Chair assumed Chair of the Meeting

4. Approve Trustee Committees for 2020-2021
---

The Board approved the 2020-2021 Trustee Committee representatives as attached to these minutes.

### 5. Trustee Administrator's Meeting Responsibility for 2020-2021

Until further notice, Administrator's Meeting will be held via Zoom. Board members will be invited to attend. Wilco Tymensen, Superintendent will provide a meeting update at the Regular Board Meetings.

### 6. Approve Trustee School Responsibilities for 2020-2021

The Board approved the Trustee School Responsibilities for the 2020-2021 term of office as attached to these minutes.

#### 7. Trustee Remuneration

The Board of Trustees reviewed Trustee Remuneration and made the motion that the remuneration remain unchanged for the 2020-2021 term of office.

### 8. Approved Board Meeting Dates for 2020-2021

The Board approve the Board Meeting Dates for the 2020-2021 term of office as attached to these minutes.

- **9. School Visits –** postponed until further notice due to COVID restrictions
- 10. Adjourn Organizational Meeting

Moved by Blair	Lowry that the	Organizational	Meeting A	djourn.

	Carried Unanimously	ADJOURNMENT 122/20
 Chair	Secretary	

# Horizon School Division Trustee Committees (2020-2021 SCHOOL YEAR)

## **Board Chair – Marie Logan Board Vice-Chair – Bruce Francis**

A.T.A. Negotiating/Liaison Committee Marie Logan Derek Baron Christa Runka	<b>Audit Committee</b> Marie Logan Bruce Francis Christa Runka
<b>Budget Committee</b> All members of the Board	C.U.P.E./Support Staff Negotiating Liaison Committee Rick Anderson – Chair Blair Lowry Jennifer Crowson
<b>Facilities Committee</b> Bruce Francis – Chair Derek Baron Blair Lowry	<b>Hutterian Brethren Board Representative</b> Rick Anderson
<b>Indigenous</b> Jennifer Crowson Rick Anderson – alternate	<b>Policy Committee</b> Rick Anderson Christa Runka
Public Relations Committee and <i>Friends of Horizon</i> Marie Logan Jennifer Crowson	<b>Transportation</b> All members of the Board
Administrative Council Meetings One member of the Board on a monthly rotation	<b>ASBA Zone 6 Director</b> Marie Logan Christa Runka - alternate
Council of School Councils One member of the Board to attend meetings on rotation	<b>TEBA</b> Marie Logan Bruce Francis - alternate

## Horizon School Division Board of Trustees Board Meeting Dates (2020-2021)

Monday, September 28, 2020			
Monday, October 26, 2020			
Monday, November 23, 2020			
Monday, December 14, 2020			
Monday, January 25, 2021			
Monday, February 22, 2021			
Monday, March 22, 2021			
Monday, April 26, 2021			
Monday, May 31, 2021			
Monday, June 28, 2021			

## COSC Representation 2020-2021

Thursday, November 19, 2020	Jennifer Crowson
Wednesday, February 10, 2021	Bruce Francis
Wednesday, April 28, 2021	Jennifer Crowson

### Horizon School Division Board of Trustees School Responsibilities (2020-2021)

### **Marie Logan (Ward 1 – Lomond/Enchant)**

Enchant School – Enchant

Lomond Community School – Lomond

Armada Colony School

**Enchant Colony School** 

Lomond Colony School

### Jennifer Crowson (Ward 2 - Hays/Vauxhall)

Hays School - Hays

Horizon M.A.P. School - Vauxhall

Vauxhall Elementary School – Vauxhall

Vauxhall High School – Vauxhall

Copperfield Colony School

### **Bruce Francis (Ward 3 – Taber)**

Dr. Hamman School - Taber

Midland Colony School

Cameron Farms Colony School

**Evergreen Colony School** 

W.R. Myers High School (includes Sr. High Mennonite Program) - Taber

### **Blair Lowry (Ward 3 – Taber)**

Central School – Taber

D.A. Ferguson Middle School (includes Jr. High Mennonite Program) - Taber

L.T. Westlake School – Taber

Taber Christian Alternative School – Taber

Taber Christian Alternative High School - Taber

Kingsland Colony School

### Rick Anderson (Ward 3 - Taber)

ACE Place Learning Centre - Taber

Barnwell School - Barnwell

Fairlane Colony School

Hillridge Colony School

Oaklane Colony School

Prairiehome Colony Schoo

### Derek Baron (Ward 4 – Warner/Grassy Lake)

Chamberlain School – Grassy Lake

Warner School – Warner

Arden T. Litt Centre for Learning – Grassy Lake

Bluegrass Colony School

Delco Colony School

Elm Spring Colony

Sunnysite Colony School

### **Christa Runka (Ward 5 – Milk River/Coutts)**

Erle Rivers High School - Milk River

Milk River Elementary School – Milk River

River Road Colony School

Elmspring Colony School

Gold Spring Colony School

Miltow Colony School